top of page
anointing of the sick.png

Anointing of the Sick

The Seven Sacraments

Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law:

Baptism, Confirmation, the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony.

A Sacrament of Healing

Through the Sacrament of Anointing, Christ offers strength and support to those who are:

  • afflicted by a life-threatening illness

  • seriously weakened by old age

  • facing surgery due to serious illness


The sacrament may be repeated if the sick person recovers after being anointed and then again falls ill, or if during the same illness, the person's condition becomes more serious.


To receive the sacrament with full faith and devotion, the faithful should not delay the reception of the sacrament, but should ask for anointing as soon as the right time comes.


Bishops and priests administer the sacrament, using the Oil of the Sick. 


The special grace of the sacrament unites the recipient to the passion of Christ, imparting strength, peace, and the courage to endure.


For sick people who are unable to receive the Sacrament of Penance, the Sacrament of Anointing confers forgiveness of sins. The sacrament also prepares the soul for eternal life.

To request the Sacrament of Anointing, please contact the Parish Office at 843-884-5587.

bottom of page